Blogger Idol 2013

Auditions for this year’s Blogger Idol  awards have started, and I have submitted an application!  Though I have been featured on a few sites; Gourmandize, Blogher Food, and received the Versatile Blogger Award from WordPress, this is the first contest I am entering as a blogger.  If you’re reading this, I hope you’re a “liker” of mine will support me by following the event on Twitter and Facebook.

I am both excited to be involved and a bit nervous about the feedback/criticism/raves I am going to receive.  Doing something like this is a leap of faith in myself; even more so than starting the blog initially.  Though there are all kinds of prizes, I am much more interested in the opportunity to get greater exposure, valuable feedback, to challenge myself and to gain recognition.

I started this blog after a middle of the night ‘divine download’ came to me.  I woke at 2:30 a.m. one morning to a clear picture of what I should be doing, and it all started with writing a blog about food, and my rocky relationship with it.  As it has evolved I have enjoyed exploring my own history in food, new recipes, new ideas, reading even more about food than I had before (which is saying something!) and getting to know fellow bloggers in my new community.

I haven’t been at this long, and I can already see how my voice, my point of view and my message have expanded and developed.  I am learning as I go, and finding teachers in unexpected places.  It’s been really great for me so far, so I will ask that ubiquitous question; how was it for you?

3 thoughts on “Blogger Idol 2013

  1. Erin Owen

    Great! So excited for you putting yourself out there! It’s been fun for me as a reader to learn more about interesting and relevant topics for food, cooking, my relationship with food, about your amazing and diverse background with all things food, and more. Can’t wait to see what’s next for you and this blog!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Blogger Idol 2013 | The Bloppy Bloggers Gazette...

Leave a Reply

